Tenebris Somnia GOG Guide: DRM-Free Price, Requirements, and Platforms

Tenebris Somnia is available DRM-free on GOG. Compare the GOG and Steam listings, dated prices, system requirements, and platform support.

Is Tenebris Somnia on GOG?

Yes. If you searched for "Tenebris Somnia GOG" to check whether the retro survival horror escaped launcher-based storefronts, it did — there is a live GOG.com product page for the game. Andrés Borghi and Saibot Studios' 2D nightmare, published by New Blood Interactive, arrived on October 16, 2026, and the GOG build is sold DRM-free. That detail matters more than usual here: the Tenebris Somnia GOG listing gives you a downloadable offline installer that does not require the GOG Galaxy client, an activation key, or an internet connection once the files are on your drive.

The official Steam store page for Tenebris Somnia confirms the same release date, the same publisher, and the same core pitch: a Silent Hill and Resident Evil-inspired survival horror adventure rendered in an 8- or 16-bit style, punctuated by live-action cutscenes shot by an award-winning film crew from Argentina. This guide sticks to what the storefront listings and review aggregators actually show, with dates attached to every number.

Tenebris Somnia GOG vs Steam: What Actually Differs

Both storefronts sell the same game, but the packaging around it differs in ways that affect how you install and launch it. The table below reflects each listing as captured on October 20, 2026.

FeatureGOG listingSteam listing
DRMDRM-free; no activation or online checkSteam client required
Price observed Oct 20, 202620% off — $19.99, down from $24.9920% off — $19.99, down from $24.99
Introductory offer expiryNot stated on the captured pageStated as ending October 30
DemoListed as availableListed as available
LauncherOptional (GOG Galaxy only for cloud saves/achievements)Steam client mandatory
BundlesNone shown on the captured pagePart of 12 bundles, including one paired with FAITH
Achievements / cloud savesThrough optional GOG GalaxyBuilt into Steam
Official platforms listedWindowsWindows (Steam Deck Verified)

The headline for most buyers is the price parity: as of October 20, 2026, both stores discounted the game by 20% to $19.99 from a $24.99 base. GOG's captured page also recorded $24.99 as the lowest price in the prior 30 days, which tells you the discount was new rather than a markdown from an inflated list price.

What GOG Adds

  • A fully offline installer that works without any client installed.
  • Optional Galaxy features: achievement and cloud-save syncing you can simply ignore.
  • No activation step, so the install survives storefront outages and account issues.

What Steam Adds

  • Steam Deck Verified status, per the Steam listing.
  • Trading cards, Steam Cloud, Family Sharing, and Steam Achievements.
  • Cross-promotional bundles — the ExecuDorf bundle with FAITH, plus pairings with Silver Pines and Look Outside.

Price and Discount Snapshot for Tenebris Somnia GOG

Prices move, so treat every figure here as a frozen observation rather than a promise. As of October 20, 2026, the Tenebris Somnia GOG page displayed a 20% discount, taking the game to $19.99 from $24.99. The same day, the Steam page displayed an identical $24.99 to $19.99 introductory offer, with the Steam page explicitly noting that the promotion ends October 30.

Two practical notes follow from that. First, the discount was framed as introductory on Steam, which suggests the $24.99 base price is the reference point once the promotion lapses. Second, GOG did not print an end date on the captured page, so the safest assumption is that its promotion is also time-limited — check the live listing before you assume the $19.99 figure still applies.

System Requirements: The Two Listings Disagree

This is the most confusing part of shopping for Tenebris Somnia across storefronts. The GOG and Steam pages publish materially different hardware requirements for what should be the same build. Both minimum specifications are reproduced below exactly as listed on October 20, 2026.

RequirementGOG minimumSteam minimum
OSWindows 10 64-bitWindows 10 64-bit or later
Processor2.4 GHz dual core or higher2.4 GHz dual core or higher
Memory1 GB RAM8 GB RAM
GraphicsNot specified in captured listing4 GB VRAM or greater
DirectXVersion 9.0Version 11
Storage2 GB available space13 GB available space

The recommended tiers diverge just as sharply. GOG lists a 2.4 GHz quad-core with 2 GB RAM, DirectX 9.0, and 2 GB of storage. Steam recommends Windows 11 64-bit, a 3.6 GHz quad-core, 16 GB RAM, 8 GB of VRAM, DirectX 11, and 13 GB of storage.

Because the gap is large — 1 GB versus 8 GB of RAM, 2 GB versus 13 GB of storage — do not average the two. Buy from the storefront whose specification you can actually meet, and if your PC sits in the middle of that range, verify against the live listing before purchasing. Neither page explains the discrepancy.

Platforms, Controllers, and Handheld Support

GOG's "Works on" field lists Windows only. The Steam page adds two pieces of platform information worth flagging: Xbox controller support and Steam Deck Verified status. Verified means the game runs well on Valve's handheld without manual tweaking, which is a meaningful signal for a 2D horror game with puzzle-solving and combat.

Console players have a separate situation. Metacritic's page for the game, captured October 20, 2026, lists platforms as PC, Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, Xbox Series X, and PlayStation 5. That listing is not the same as a storefront you can buy from today, and nothing in the GOG or Steam material confirms console release dates. If you want the Tenebris Somnia GOG version specifically, plan on playing it on a Windows PC.

Language support also differs slightly between the two stores. GOG lists English, Spanish (Spain), and Spanish (Latin America) with both audio and text. Steam's table marks English, Spanish (Spain), Spanish (Latin America), Japanese, and Portuguese (Brazil) for interface and subtitles, with no full-audio column checked on the captured page.

What Players Are Saying About the Game

Review scores are snapshots, and this game is young — it launched four days before these figures were recorded. As of October 20, 2026, the Steam page showed a "Very Positive" aggregate from 648 user reviews, with 93% rated positive. GOG's page showed a 4.9 out of 5 average from a much smaller pool of 5 reviews. Metacritic, in the same October 20, 2026 capture, listed a 79 Metascore from five critic reviews and an 8.3 user score from 11 ratings.

Community reports on GOG's review section repeatedly compare the game to a hybrid of Resident Evil and FAITH, with praise aimed at the live-action FMV sequences and the monster design. One reviewer described it as a love letter to the horror genre and credited New Blood for backing an original indie project. Those are player impressions from a handful of early buyers, not a consensus — the sample sizes are tiny.

What is not in dispute is the production story: the Steam page notes roughly four years of development and filming, and the live-action sequences were produced by a professional Argentine film crew using practical effects. That combination of 8/16-bit exploration and full-motion video interludes is the game's defining hook, and it holds on both storefronts because it is the same game underneath.

FAQ

Is Tenebris Somnia available on GOG? Yes. The Tenebris Somnia GOG page is live and lists the game as DRM-free, tagged Horror, Adventure, and Survival, with an October 16, 2026 release date matching the Steam listing.

Do I need GOG Galaxy to play the Tenebris Somnia GOG version? No. GOG states that a fully offline installer is available and that Galaxy is optional, used only for achievement and cloud-save synchronization.

Is the Tenebris Somnia GOG price the same as on Steam? As of October 20, 2026, both storefronts listed the game at $19.99 after a 20% discount from $24.99. Steam stated its offer ends October 30; GOG's captured page did not show an end date, so confirm before buying.

Which platforms can I play Tenebris Somnia on? The GOG listing covers Windows only, and Steam marks the game Steam Deck Verified with Xbox controller support. Metacritic also lists Switch, Switch 2, Xbox Series X, and PlayStation 5, but no console release dates appear in the storefront material referenced here.